Bacon Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Pancakes

So, this post has little to nothing to do with the Paleo diet and ends with a recipe that is definitely not strict Paleo. Hate me. I don’t care because I feel inspired to write about other things and the pancakes were so delicious and worth it.

I’ve been up since like 3am and now I’m sitting in the library where people are being exceptionally loud. I’m judging them all. I’m so good at judging people. I just sit back and predict what their life is like outside of their friend group (cat person, dog person, fish person, serial killer, cat person, bird person, ew turtle person). I judge the foods they eat (duh) and I judge how loud they talk on the phone. I judge whatever I can see them looking at on their laptop or tablet (are you watching Grey’s Anatomy in public? Embarrassment). I judge their Vera Bradley backpacks and heels. I judge the music that is blaring from their headphones that aren’t even on/in their ears (why is this a thing?!). I judge the major I project on them (business, undeclared, comp sci, education, education, education, education, education, education, marketing, education–lots of sorority girls around). Earlier, the cops rushed in and some guy got arrested out of no where and made a big scene. I definitely judged him. And I judged the cops. Double Judgement. I’m mean. Sorry I’m not sorry. I’m sure no one judges me for no makeup, a shirt with a dog and surfboard on it, beef jerky, and blogging. I’m cool. Confession: I like the new Miley Cyrus ‘Wrecking Ball’ song. I spent 20 minutes debating in my head on the drive to school today and decided I definitely like Miley better than TSwift. I’m still cool.

I have been shopping too much. I don’t even like shopping. But I went real shopping yesterday and bought things. Also, I’ve been intermittently window shopping online for the past week. I hate when I feel like I need things. I need new, awesome headphones. I need new boots (specifically these and these). I need more Lululemon WunderUnders. I need everything. Gross. I’m selfish and feel entitled and apparently don’t believe in saving extra money when I get it. Just give me stuff. I’m a white American. I just need stuff–I don’t care what it is. Ok. That was weird. Anyways. Yesterday I got a pair of pants that were originally $250 for $19. Lesson learned: don’t buy anything full price unless you need it–like those boots.

I’m rambling. Time for pancakes. Did you know the Spanish word for pancakes is ‘panqueques’? Makes me laugh every time. It may be like 9000 degrees outside, but it’s almost Fall. Pumpkin season is here. Pumpkin everything is coming. And you love it. You love it so much. These pancakes just add to the long list of everything delicious and pumpkin (the words really are synonymous). You could add anything to these pancakes. Blueberries, pecans, more bacon, protein powder (if you’re into that), banana chunks, coconut flakes… but why wouldn’t you add chocolate and bacon? There is not any proper reasoning to anything that answers that question. These are the best pancakes ever.

Bacon Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Pancakes

-7

Prep & cook time: 10 minutes
Serves: 4

Ingredients

  1. Cook your bacon crispy & make bacon bits. You can cut it into bits before or after it is cooked. (I do it before with either a knife or meat scissors. You need them to be small–like max 1cmx1cm.) Once cooked, put your bacon aside and let cool.
  2. In a large bowl, mix pumpkin, eggs, spices, salt, vanilla, honey, arrowroot powder, and baking soda until uniform.
  3. Slowly add coconut flour in increments of 1/2-1 tbsp at a time, mixing the batter between spoonfuls. You only need to add enough coconut flour to make the batter a thicker consistency– similar to a porridge, less thick than mashed sweet potato, more thick than cake batter. I used 3 tablespoons.
  4. Stir in your chocolate chips and bacon (or blueberries and pecans, if you’re wrong).
  5. In a large pan over medium heat, add 2 tbsp of coconut oil.
  6. Once the coconut oil is hot, spoon in some of the mixture to make a few 3-4 inch pancakes. Don’t over crowd the pan.
  7. Turn each pancake when the air bubbles on the sides have popped–about a minute or two (just like conventional Bisquick pancakes, but these cook faster).
  8. Let cook through on this side (mine only took about 30-60 seconds) and set on a plate to serve. Continue until you have used up all the batter, adding more coconut oil to the pan as needed.
  9. Top with grass-fed butter, bacon bits, chocolate chips, fresh fruit, coconut butter, maple syrup, or whatever else your heart desires.
  10. Eat up!
Leave a Reply

