The Ultimate Frittata

frit

I’m enjoying myself a lovely break from work for about a week and a half until school starts back. Being a part time bartender that means I only took about 4 days off, but it still sounds like a vacation to me. More vacation: I hurt my shoulder so I’m taking a small, undesired vacation from Crossfit to heal– and that means a lot of leg days are about to happen, hello back squats and box jumps!

Back to the good stuff…. On vacation, you can really have any kind of schedule you would like. That means I can eat when I want to, not on a strict schedule. I went to the doctor this morning, so I didn’t even think about breakfast until about 11:30am. That’s three hours later than normal! And I made the deliciousness found below. Normally, I would have had a major ‘vacation splurge’ and treated myself to some peachy coconut donut holes or blueberry and chocolate chip bread pudding, but I’m in the middle of a 21 day sugar detox. If you’ve never heard of it (or if you have heard of it, but have let your curiosities rest and your fears get the best of you), read about it, order the e-book, and do it!

I do a detox about every season. Sometimes I fail (dang blueberries). Sometimes I fail miserably (dang brownies and chips and queso). Sometimes I succeed (this time, so far so good). Diane Sanfilippo, the creator, is a beautiful, paleo genius. Talk about a woman crush. Sugar detox is great for any and everyone. There are different levels and modification that you can choose between depending on your own needs, current diet, and comfort levels. It helps strict paleo people see their possible reliance on sugary fruits and starchy veggies and helps others see the benefits of cutting unnecessary (and often times unknown) sugars, starches, and junk out of their diet. Best of all, I’ve seen successful sugar detoxes cause people to become more creative than ever before. What? Creative? With no dates or dairy-free, soy-free chocolate? Impossible. But it is not! I’ve made carrot fries that are as good or better than sweet potato fries. The first time I tried Paleo mayo was on a sugar detox. I mixed almond butter and coconut butter in a moment of pure desperation on a sugar detox and still enjoy it regularly in my normal diet.

Ok, ok, enough about sugar detox. Sorry, when you aren’t very religious, you find Diane Sanfilippo and her 21 Day Sugar Detox to praise and preach about. Don’t worry, I’ll talk about it more next time 🙂

Image

The Ultimate Frittata

Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 15 mins
Serves: 1

  • 1-2 slices of bacon, diced into 1 inch pieces
  • 1/2 parsnip, julienned
  • 1/2 carrot, julienned
  • 1/4 red bell pepper, julienned
  • 5 stalks of asparagus, cut into 3 inch sticks
  • 1/4 cup red onion, diced
  • 1-2 tbsp green onion, diced
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 tsp rosemary
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Cook the diced bacon in a pan over medium-high heat until crispy.
  2. Add the parsnips, carrots, red bell pepper, asparagus, and red onion to the pan. Toss veggies in the rendered bacon fat. (If your bacon did not render enough fat to coat the pan and veggies, either add more or add an addition tablespoon of ghee or coconut oil.) Let sauté over medium heat until parsnips, carrots, and bell pepper are soft and red onion becomes translucent.
  3. While the veggies are sautéing, scramble the three eggs with salt, pepper, and rosemary. (Also, turn your oven’s broiler on high)
  4. Once the veggies are cooked to preferred tenderness, spread the bacon/veggie mixture evenly over the pan. Pour the eggs on top.
  5. Ever so slightly, tilt the pan to make sure the eggs slide through the crevices and cover the veggies. Let the eggs cook in the pan until the bottom is set (usually about 60 seconds).
  6. Put the pan in the oven under the broiler for 2-3 minutes, until the top sets and the sides begin to curl away from the pan. (Side note: if you don’t have an “oven-friendly” pan, you can simply wrap the non-oven-friendly parts (like a rubber-gribbed handle) with foil and put it in the oven.)
  7. Slide the frittata out of the pan onto a plate and top with green onions.
  8. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

